I’m not a member of Bawumia’s Manifesto Committee – Okyeame Kwame

Blog Buzz Music
Share this:

Ghanaian musician Okyeame Kwame has disclosed that he has not officially been appointed to the Manifesto Committee of Vice President Dr Mahamadu Bawumia.

He has also intimated that he is not politically affiliated with the New Patriotic Party (NPP).

In a press release signed on February 24, 2024, by Okyeame Kwame, he stated that he had not been paid for this task.

“I wish to reassure my respected following and reiterate that I remain non-partisan and apolitical, as I have been throughout my entire career. I have not been paid by H.E. The Vice President’s campaign team to be a member of the committee for the arts and tourism manifesto nor have I officially been invited on my terms as non-partisan participant,” he noted. 

According to Kwame, he is open to all other political parties that seek to tap into his expertise in the creative industry.

“Indeed, when it comes to contributing policy opinion towards the advancement of the Arts and Culture in Ghana, I am respectfully open to all political or ideological persuasions, be they NPP, NDC, CPP, Independent or other, that may want me to openly and sincerely lend my knowledge to develop this nobel industry,” he added. 

The ‘Made in Ghana’ hitmaker says he remains the consummate professional he has been for the past 26 years.

“I have pledged myself to the service of Ghana, in all fields of my competence, with all my strength and with all my heart. All are sincerely welcome, as I remain non-partisan and #MadeInGhana4Life,” he explained.

He, however, expressed his gratitude to the Vice President and flagbearer of the New Patriotic Party, Dr. Mahamadu Bawumia for reposing trust in his experience.

“That said, in utmost humility, I wish to express my profound appreciation to His Excellency the Vice President’s Campaign Team, for thinking my experience and intellect is worthy enough for consideration,” the press release states. 

Okyeame Kwame is one of the fifteen people who were named as members of the New Patriotic Party’s Manifesto Committee for tourism, arts and culture. 

Other members are former minister of Tourism, Arts and Culture Catherine Abelema Afeku, Dr. Ama Boafo-Arthur, Prof. Issahatu Adam, the founder of the Glitz Style Awards, Claudia Lumor and actor Prince David Osei.

The rest are Nana Yaw Manteaw, Yaa Pokua Baiden, Kwaku Osei Korankye Asiedu (KOKA), and Festus Frimpong Gyebi, Eric Owusu Akreso, Dr. Ackah Kwame Nyameke and Radia Adama Saani.

They form part of the party’s sub-committee on tourism, arts and culture chaired by the Executive Secretary of the National Film Authority (NFA), Juliet Yaa Asantewaa Asante and the Chief Executive Officer of the Ghana Tourism Authority (GTA) Akwasi Agyemang.

SourceKwame Dadzie 

Share this:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *